striving for perfection and being good enough.

i have all these thoughts in my head, today im rapid cycling, and its triggered by real life situations. i feel quite overwhelmed and very tired after monitoring my mood every second of today and i still havent made it to bed. i think it will be easier to sleep after i get all of this out.

but

i was lying in the bath just now, i put some Jojoba oil from The Jojoba Company in my bath and it felt like i was bathing in silk. it was seriously divine. Anyway, just like how im writing, my thoughts were running away from me as i was relaxing.  you see the things i do are never good enough, i always want to do better and be better, i always want to strive for perfection, but then i thought. What is perfection?

seriously, what is it?

Dictionary definition of Perfect:

per·fect http://img.tfd.com/m/sound.swf (pûrfkt)

adj.

1. Lacking nothing essential to the whole; complete of its nature or kind.
2. Being without defect or blemish: a perfect specimen.
3. Thoroughly skilled or talented in a certain field or area; proficient.
4. Completely suited for a particular purpose or situation: She was the perfect actress for the part.
5.

a. Completely corresponding to a description, standard, or type: a perfect circle; a perfect gentleman.
b. Accurately reproducing an original: a perfect copy of the painting.
6. Complete; thorough; utter: a perfect fool.
7. Pure; undiluted; unmixed: perfect red.
8. Excellent and delightful in all respects: a perfect day.
9. Botany Having both stamens and pistils in the same flower; monoclinous.
10. Grammar Of, relating to, or constituting a verb form expressing action completed prior to a fixed point of reference in time.
11. Music Designating the three basic intervals of the octave, fourth, and fifth.
n.

1. Grammar The perfect tense.
2. A verb or verb form in the perfect tense.
tr.v. (pr-fktper·fect·edper·fect·ingper·fects

To bring to perfection or completion.

if we dont strive for perfection in everything we do, then are we settling for less than we are able to do? are we settling with ‘good enough’ without reaching ‘incredible’? but if we do always strive for perfection in everything, are we ever satisfied as to where we end up? because we will never ever reach perfection…..

when is ‘good enough’ enough? but how are we meant to make goals and have dreams if we dont want what is perfect for us? if we dont have that perfect ideal in our head as to where we want to be, or what we want to do or achieve, then are we settling for less than what we are capable of and less than what we deserve?

About yngmamac

Mama of 3, i love to craft and create, I have BiPolar and Borderline Personality Disorder, i always try to see the positives and sometimes have to remind myself of what im grateful for, i say it how i see it, i talk a lot about Mental Illness, family life, crafts, recipes and living with limited means and funds. More than Instant Noodles is about living on a budget, how to work with what you have and hopefully educate others a little too :) xox
This entry was posted in life oh life, Mental Health. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to striving for perfection and being good enough.

  1. Emily says:

    I totally identify with feeling overwhelmed with having to monitor your mood day in and day out. I have battled with Depression my whole life and most recently PTSD so if I start to feel a bit off I generally fly of the handle and think I have undone all the good work I did in therapy! That too is usually just the anxiety kicking it up a notch.

    After reading that definition I’d say no one has a shit show of attaining perfection.

  2. I tried for a really long time to be better, or to be what I thought I should be, etc, etc. Then one day I was talking about my mom and how I found peace with my relationship with her when I realized that she did the best she could with the tools she had, and that not many people in the same situation with the same tools would have done better.

    Then it hit me, why do I ask more of myself than I do of others, so my definition of the perfect me is now when I can look at myself in the mirror and say that I did the best I could in every situation with the tools I have. I may sometimes wish that I had done things differently, hindsight being 20/20 and all, but if at the time, I always aimed to do what was right/best for me and those around me, I am good enough.

    This doesn’t stop me from improving, because when I am provided with new tools/information, I owe it to myself to use them to continue to do the best/right thing.

Leave a Reply

